A Tribute to the Past Hurlers of the Parish by Tom Dineen

Two surviving members of the 1913 Championship Winning side are still with us. They are Maurice Treacy who captained the team and Dan Glavin. Six of the famous 1926/30 side are also still with us, namely Sonny Walsh, Bruddy Champ, Jeremiah O'Connor, Ned Kearney, John Paul Reidy and Dr. Diarmuid Reidy Their names and fame will live forever in the hearts of every Irish Gael throughout North Kerry. They evoke golden memories of great deeds of bygone days. Tributes must also be paid to the victorious 1974 Co Champions whose illustrious feat brought honour and glory to the Parish of St Bernard.

One might ask what does the G.A.A. stand for or has it any significance at all? Yes, it has and a very honourable one. By fostering our Gaelic Games, clubs like Abbeydorney help to instill a greater love for the Irish Nation in the minds of our young people. Recognising past and present achievements, clubs help to develop a sense of nobility and integrity in its members which in the case of Abbeydorney has led to the opening of this fine new Sportsfield. This reflects great credit on the Gaels of Abbeydorney and is a worthy addition to the many amenities now being provided by the G .A.A. for the benefit of Irish youth. It is also a fitting memory to all the past Officers and Hurlers of Abbeydorney.