1999 County Minor Hurling Championship                                                              ABBEYDORNEY 1-10  KILMOYLEY 0-6

The young hurlers of Abbeydorney did their parish proud as thy recorded a fairly comprehensive victory over Kilmoyley in the County Minor Championship played in Austin Stack Park Tralee on Sunday.
This achievement was all the more noteworthly when you consider that they bridged a gap of 28 years.
Playing with the assistance of a strong breeze in the first half Abbeydorney enjoyed a six point lead at the break. Kilmoyley chipped away at the lead and by the 50th minute only two points separated the sides; then in the 51st minute Abbeydorney's wing forward Kieran Hannafin took possession about fourteen yards out and unleashed a bullet to the roof of the net for a really memorable goal which sealed the fate of the opposition.
One of the features of this game was the class display of midfielder Brian 'Beano' O'Donovan: he demonstrated a wide array of skills; his fielding was superb, his ball skills were  brillant and his accuracy from frees and play was impeccable. He received great support from his midfield partner Gerard Brassil, especially in the second half when the heat was on.
Another factor in Abbeydorney's favour, was the sheer commitment in defence: they conceded only four points from play; the half back line of Aonrai O'Donovan, David Nolan and Robert Murphy were particularly prominent.
Apart from the goal scorer Hannafin, the fullforward line of Edward Sheehan, Padraig Dineen and the skillful Ivan McCarthy who scored two good points were excellent. The sides were level by the end the end first quarter, Brian o Donovan and Ivan McCarthy scoring from frees while Shane Brick scored two for Kilmoyley.
The second quarter belonged to Abbeydorney: O'Donovan scored an inspirational point near the half way line and he followed with two frees. In the 26th minute O'Donovan fielded and passed to Hannafin who found Dineen for a superb score and Edward Sheehan scored the last point of the half. Half time score 0-8 to 0-2.
Kilmoyley scored four points, three from Shane Brick and a point from Mike Collins to narrow the gap to just two points. Kieran Hannafin scored a goal in the 51st minute. Custodian Richard O'Brien saved from Shane Brick and three minutes later Ivan McCarthy put six points between the sides. Brian O'Donovan wisely took his point from a penalty to leave the final score 1-10 to 0-6.
There was great  jubilation afterwards when captain Aonrai O'Donovan received the trophy from the County oard Jerome Conway,
Abbeydorney: Richard O'Brien, David O'Connell, John Sheehan, Niall O'Connell, Aonrai O'Donovan (capt), David Nolan, Robert Murphy, Brian Beano O'Donovan (0-6), Gerard Brassil, Kieran Hannafin (1-0), Kieran O'Connell, Damien Ryall, Edward Sheehan (0-1), Padraig Dineen (0-1), Ivan McCarthy (0-2). Subs: Fintan Nolan for Ned Sheehan.
Kilmoyley: Brendan Harris, Tommy Collins, Paul McCarthy, Peter Regan, Padraig O'Sullivan, Kevin Gentleman, Padraig Griffin, Darren Young, Fergal Carroll, Thomas Sheehy (0-2), Shane Brick (0-5) Michael Sheehy, Sean Young, Mike Collins (0-1), P J Meehan. Subs: Brendan Lawlor for Padraig Griffin
Referee: Brendan Dunne, Ballyheigue