2001 Junior County Championship Final                                              ABBEYDORNEY  1-9  CROTTA O NEILLS  1-6

Abbeydorney ( holders) scored a very hard win  over their neighbours, Crotta O'Neills in this sportingly contested County Junior Hurling Championship Final.
In the process they completed a County League & Championship double. This game was changed from Lerrig to Caherslee,were it not for the sportsmanship of all the players involved,and the good natured-banter of both sets of supporters who were cheek-by-bowl along the two sidelines,crucial to Abbeydorneys win was they availed of every scoring opportunity that came there way securing1-5 to 0-5.
Crotta  had opportunities to be well ahead at half time but 6 wides from very scoreable frees and four from play ensured that they were playing catch up for rest of game.
Scorers for O'Dorney in first half were Tim Fealy 0-5 (4frees ) and Bill Maunsell. O'Dorneys goal which came in the 13th minute wasmost fortuitous; Tom O'Donoghue, Crottas goalkepper after deflecting a great save, had to solo out about 30yards from goals where he was dispossessed. The ball was quickly transferred into Bill Maunsell who dispatched the sliotar to an empty net.
For crotta, Mike Boland pointed two frees & a 65 and Martin Keane & Maurice McElligott had a point each from play. After half time Tim Fealy pointed a 20 metre free in the 7th minute; Under instructions, he pointed the penalty in the 11th minute after john sheehan was fouled in the square.
Mike Boland struck overa 65 for Crotta immediately afterwards but this was negatived by a fine point by David Nolan in the 17 minute. Two minutes later, sub Colm mcElligott struck a great goal after brillant play by David Twomey to leave but two points between the teams.
The final minutes were played out in a welter of excitement, as both sides strove manfully right up to the final whistle.
Best for O'Dorney,who gave a man of match performance at fullback, goalkeeper Richard O'Brien, David Fahy, David O'Connell, Ber McElligott & sub John McKenna & David Moore, Tom Rice and Denis Long.
After the game Jerome Conway presented The Junior Cup to Tom Rice.
ABBEYDORNEY: Richard O'Brien, David Fahy, Ger Maunsell, David O'Connell, Mike Leahy, Ber mcElligott, Kieran O'Connell, David Moore, Der Lawlor, Denis Long, Conor Kearney, John Sheehan, Bill Maunsell, Tom Rice (capt.) Tim Fealy. SUBS: David Nolan, Liam McCarthy, John McKenna.
CROTTA: Tom O'Donoghue (capt.), Mike Brady, TJ O'Sullivan, Paul Shanahan, Diarmuid Nolan, John Edwards, Mike Barry, Seamus Enright, Maurice McElligott, Tom Stack. SUBS: Colm McElligott, Peter Molyneaux, Paul Culhane.
REFEREE: Gearoid Regan, Ballyheigue